Ramadan Mubarak!

Ramadan Mubarak everyone!  It’s hour 5 today, this second day of Ramadan, and I am “masih kuat,” “still strong.”  Typing from the administrative office, and “Creep” by Radiohead just came on the radio.  Everything in Leuwiliang has slowed down significantly now that everyone is fasting.  After the squeezes of Pre-Service Training, nothing feels as good as a little down-time.  Still, I’ve been going through some of the materials that the ID7 I’m following left behind and stepping cautiously around my old and unsavory habit of an all-or-nothing approach to discipline…

So far, there is a “GOALs” board (Met the neighbors? √) up in my room and am almost finished with a ginormous wall calendar comprising the entirety of service, a technique I found helpful in Marseille, when a quick glance at the calendar gave me renewed spirit at the prospect of things to come.  But like these first few days of Ramadan, it seems better to focus on the short-term.  If I can make it through ten minutes, an hour seems shorter, the days slip by, and I gradually gain mastery over my time.

Masih kuat!

Leave a comment

Filed under Egypt

What do you think?

