Goodbye, Europe!

Tonight is my last night in Europe and I am spending it in a hostel room in Milan with a Parisian and a Moldovan/Swede engaging in conversation and laughing a lot.  I could not have asked for a better ending for a semester filled with educational moments and unexpectedly enlightening experiences.  Although it has been a totally different time compared to Egypt, I feel a similar sadness for the people I am leaving behind (though knowing this brilliant bunch, I’m bound to see at least some of them again– if on the cover of the New York Times) and a nostalgia for the places I’ve seen over this time.  I have dipped my toes in many waters this semester and knowing how anxious I was to travel before I left on this grand adventure, seeing so much will only make my list of future destinations longer.  After these nearly 9 months, the world feels only bigger, grander, and more beautiful than I have ever seen it.   I will be back to all of these places one day, in a different time and in a different context,  but with just the same excitement as when I first visited.

 

Thank you, France, Italy, Spain, Germany, Denmark, the Netherlands, Ireland, Morocco, Egypt, Switzerland, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, and (how could I forget!) Monaco for an unforgettable semester.  One day we’ll meet again!

2 Comments

Filed under America

2 responses to “Goodbye, Europe!

  1. We’ll miss you Thea; bon voyage!

What do you think?

