SACRE BLEU! an essay contest!

Hey guys and gals!  I need your help.  The deadline is fast approaching for the Road Less Traveled Literary Magazine run by my home university and though I want to enter, I have no idea what I should submit.  According to the website, “Diverse and unique submissions are encouraged, but must be related to studying, living or traveling abroad,” so that could really be ANYTHING.  Arrrr…

This is where you come in:  what was your favorite piece of writing or photography you’ve seen on this blog?  Was there a particular theme that touched you?  Was there a piece that made you laugh, think or view something in a different way?  Let me know!

The following are my favorites, but if you have other ideas, please leave a comment below.

Thank you! Danke! Bedankt! Grazie! Merci! Shukran!

4 Comments

Filed under America, Egypt, France, In Transit

4 responses to “SACRE BLEU! an essay contest!

  1. ANNE KRAUS

    SIWA , DAY ONE AND WHEN POLITICAL UNREST,ETC.

    There are others, but these were outstanding to me. I think its great that you can give these writings an even wider audience. I look forward to hearing about results.

    BIG HUGS AND ALL MY LOVE,
    OMA annerkraus@gmail.com

  2. ANNE KRAUS

    SIWA, DAY ONE and POLITICAL UNREST,etc.

    Oma Anne

  3. ANNE KRAUS

    Glad you’ll have a wider audience for the writing. I think it is very exciting.

    All my love and lots of hugs

    Oma Anne

  4. Lisa Kraus

    Thea, So hard to choose, so MANY great posts.
    I voted for the same one as my mom because it is the most “out there,” as if you’re headed out of our known universe. The image of everyone in the dessert at night is just thrilling…BUT have to give props here to Shop til You etc.which is, as others mention, a really great combo of observation and cultural context and entertainment, Also love the belly dance one because it captures the paradox of the sultriest of dances in an otherwise buttoned up (for women) culture. Anyway, asking us to vote means casting a glance back over all the great writing you’ve been doing. They should publish a series of your posts! xo LK

What do you think?

