Goodbye, Egypt!

As of right now I am boarding the plane back into the western world.  It is a bittersweet moment: half of me wants to stay to spend more time with the people I have had the good fortune to meet over the past three months, to practice my Arabic more, to see more, to live through more political history in the making.  Egypt is often referred to as Umm al Donia, “the mother of the world” or “center of the world” and I certainly feel it leaving this place behind.  Having spent three months here, the most fascinating and multifaceted place I have ever been, I feel very rich and very lucky.

Thank you to all those whose company I have shared. 

Thank you to the average Egyptians who made me feel welcomed as one of their own.

Thank you to Alexandria for being my home and to Cairo, Luxor, Aswan, Abu Simbel, Siwa, Ain el Sokhna, and Rasheed for the mind-blowing sights and experiences. 

Thank you to those who work tirelessly today and every day to shape this country into something better than before.  

Thank you to the countless people who have shared in this country’s history whose legacies I am grateful to have appreciated.

Thank you to Egypt.  

You will be impossible to forget.

NEXT: off to France!

3 Comments

Filed under Egypt

3 responses to “Goodbye, Egypt!

  1. Moataz

    Bonne Chance :))

  2. Goodbye to Egypt but not goodbye to blogging, I hope. (I wonder what you’ll make of France – the place of my birth-

What do you think?

